Steven_Universe_Logotype

Steven Universe review.

WARNING. This post contains spoilers. (I think.)

I could go on about Steven Universe for so long! I have split my ramble into three parts, the general review, a blog on how Steven universe promotes equality and diversity, and one for theories and character discussion. The other two will be up soon.

  1. Why Steven universe is amazing
  2. Steven universe- diversity and equality.
  3. Steven universe- Lapis lazuli, Lion and Yellow Diamond.

——-

Rebecca Sugar is creator of Steven universe. All I must say is that she is amazing. Can’t praise her enough.

First, a brief outline of the show. The main characters are Pearl, Amethyst and Garnet. They are part of an alien race called Gems who have magical powers. Steven – the protagonist- is a kid who is half human/half gem. The story follows Steven and the rest of the team -called ‘the crystal gems’- as he tries to control his powers and faces everyday life. They go on missions and save the earth from other Gems, who want to use it for their own evil purposes.

—–

The animation itself is great. The backgrounds are so beautiful, the colour palate is soft and pleasing to the eye. The characters are created so wonderfully as well.

There is so much more to be revealed, I love the way they’ve made this. They are giving us snippets of information about the Gems here and there. There are also so many places they could go with the story, so much more to explore. I feel like they will never run out of ideas for episodes.

This show is all about the characters. Nuff said. Steven is so likeable and optimistic. He just wants to be everyone’s friend and is such a breath of fresh air. I love Pearl, I like Amethyst, and I really like Garnet. I’m ashamed to admit it, but at the beginning of the show, I didn’t like Garnet. *hides behind pillow.* I know, hate me please. I thought she was a bit boring and too stoic. I thought her voice actor -Estelle- sounded out of place, because her voice has such a unique tone to it. Also, because she has an English accent and all the others are American. But after a few episodes, I was totally sold. Garnet is perfect and the voice matches her perfectly. I don’t know what I was thinking.

Here are some random opinions of mine about some of the wider cast:

  • Connie is great. Her and Steven’s relationship is adorable. As well as Stevonnie (their fusion.) I love how in ‘sworn of the sword’ she is learning to swordfight, becoming a badass and wants to fight alongside Steven. That whole episode in fact, is really good.
  • Why can’t Sadie and Lars go out already!! They’ve kissed, held hands and know they like each other. Just make it official people!
  • Greg is awesome. One of my favourite human characters. I also love Young Greg in the flashbacks and all his songs. His relationship with Rose seems so cute and realistic.
  • Another of my favourite characters is Lion!!!! I love Lion! He has awesome powers, and his general indifferent demeanour is funny. Also, his appearance is really cute. And he’s pink! LION FOREVERRR.
  • I also definitely LOVE Lapis lazuli. But I am going to put up another post where I talk all about Lapis.

In the very first few episodes I was not loving the show.

I have to admit it. Steven’s voice was annoying, but after a couple episodes the actor adjusted the voice and it was much better. After about 5 episodes I was sucked in, I didn’t even realise it at the time, but I started to love the show! It was episodes 3, 7, 10, and 12 which really sold me. (Cheeseburger backpack, Bubble buddies, Steven’s lion and Giant woman.) I especially love the theme song and opening sequence. It is awesome! And the harmonies in that- *aww sigh* they are gorgeous. Every time you hear that ‘WE… are the crystal gems!’ you can’t help but smile.

Which brings me to the music. All the songs in Steven universe are amazing. Everyone goes on about ‘Stronger than you’ as their favourite. It’s an amazing song and of course it’s definitely a standout. But I couldn’t say which song was my fave. I love them all. Giant woman, strong in the real way, do it for him, be wherever you are, lapis lazuli/whaling stone, Steven’s lament, Steven and the Stevens, I could go on and on. They are catchy and heartfelt and emotional. They let us into the characters deep feelings and thoughts. Or they are simply fun. .

Renaldo is the only thing I don’t like about the whole show so far. His obsession with conspiracies and his blog ‘keep beach city weird’ is so, so annoying. Also, I was not too impressed with Sardonyx (Pearl and Garnet’s fusion.) I think she’s corny, obvious and so not awesome. I don’t know, there was a lot of hype and expectation about the reveal of a new fusion and she didn’t really do it for me. Opal is the coolest by far.

opal_s_stand___steven_universe_by_samster360-d7yhk31 so cool.

Over all, I am loving Steven Universe, its probably my favourite carton at the moment. Some new episodes have come out that I’m gonna go watch now. Can’t wait!

——-

Do you love Steven universe? Please tell me what you think in the comments below. And I would love any other TV show recommendations.

I hope you enjoyed this post.

Thanks for reading.

byeee 🙂

